Guest Reviews

plumeria flowerRight from the beginning Ed answered all the questions we had for our dream vacation to Bora Bora. For months we asked everything, down to the detail, and he was quick to respond to all of our questions. This really made us feel comfortable going to place we’ve never been and living there for 11 days. The customer service from Ed, Christophe, Coralie, and Ginou were outstanding all the way through our trip.

The place is as beautiful as the pictures online show. The view is breath-taking. The place was clean and smelled of fresh local flowers that were provided. Even though it’s above the main road, there isn’t much traffic on the island and the sound dampening of the place kept everything peacefully quiet. Group tours stop along the road to take pictures of the place due to their famous history once or twice a week so it kind of makes you feel like a star!
The couch, chairs and bed were all clean and comfy and plenty of bathroom amenities are provided. The kitchen had all the utensils you need to cook your own meals the whole time. The entertainment center and included movies were all of great quality and extremely appreciated on our rainy days.

We rented the car for the trip and although it’s a small hatchback, it provides plenty of room and was highly used throughout our trip. The place is too far to walk to most places and with the many trips to Chin Lee’s, it was a must have.

We utilized the provided two-person kayak which was of top quality. I was nervous at first at using an inflatable kayak to paddle across the lagoon but it’s really sturdy and proved to be easy enough to setup, use and tear down. There is a community dock that was really nice to have. When we booked our snorkeling trip through Pure Reef Snorkeling, which we highly recommend, they were able to pick us up and drop us off right there so we didn’t have to drive anywhere.

If you plan on snorkeling at the bungalow or taking any snorkeling excursions bringing your own gear so you can be confident they fit and work every time would be a plus. The snorkeling just off the beach of the bungalow is nice when the water is calm.

Although we began our Bora Bora trip at the Four Seasons, we’re glad we were able to end it here at Ed’s beautiful bungalow. Would we stay here again? Yes! We have so many pictures of the view, all the boats and yachts that go by and the sunsets that our memories of the place will continue for a long time. Thank you Ed!
April 2016


plumeria flowerMy husband and I stayed at Ed’s bungalow for a week in May 2016. All descriptions of the property and pictures are accurate. The view from the deck and living room were beautiful. The car was definitely needed to get around and go to town for meals and shopping. We found the bed esp comfortable and slept very well during our stay. We definitely would highly recommend Ed’s place to other guests.
May 2016


plumeria flowerWonderful. Wonderful. Wonderful.
We chose this particular bungalow based on photos and reviews. We much prefer a home setting rather than a hotel and Ed and JoAnne’s Bora Bora home is beyond any other we have experienced. They’ve put so much thought and love into every aspect. We never felt like we were renting a vacation home – we felt privileged to be there. Previous reviewers covered all the basics – amazing kitchen, perfect use of space, wonderful shower and bed, all the amenities: wifi, large TV with BluRay, local hosts on hand to help with any issues, and of course the view from most of the house and especially from the balcony.

We chose the rainy season to visit and that’s what we got. 5 of the 7 days it rained, often heavy and with high winds. Though it would have been nice to see a little more sun, we were very content sitting on the balcony with a good book and a cup of coffee or wine depending on the time of day. Watching the water change moods and all the activity that continues rain or shine was so relaxing, I’m sure we would have spent a good deal of time doing just that even if the sun was always shining.

Not to say we didn’t explore the island. We drove from end to end many times, discovering lots of wonderful restaurants, several based on Ed’s recommendations. MiaKai was amazing, Bloody Mary’s was touristy but fun. For casual food Aloe Cafe in Viatape is fantastic and The Lucky House in Matira has a terrific lunch including wood fired pizza. Took some nice walks between rain showers.

The locals are very warm and friendly, even if we don’t speak the same language. Only managed to snorkel one day, though that was one of the main reasons for the trip. We went out with Puresnorkel and in spite of the inclement weather had a good time. They offered to take us again at half price since it wasn’t the best experience and we would have taken them up on it if the weather had improved. If we ever manage to make it back to Bora Bora we will definitely want to make Here Moana our home base, even if it rains every day.
Sallowe – February 2016


plumeria flowerBeyond Awesome.
My wife and I recently had the wonderful experience of visiting Bora Bora. It was a fantastic vacation that we will never forget. The fact that we were able to stay in the magnificent Here Moana bungalow made our visit extra special. This bungalow is, without a doubt, at the top of our list as the finest bungalow we have ever been able to stay in. It was not only the fact that the bungalow was amazingly magical. It was also the fact that from the very beginning of our conversations Ed and JoAnne made us feel so welcome and they were so amazingly helpful in helping us plan our trip to Bora Bora. They were always available to answer any and all questions and did so very promptly and graciously. There are some logistics regarding visiting the Island. Ed’s insight made the process of traveling there a breeze.

There are many excellent reviews already written regarding this beautiful bungalow. I would recommend that they be read. I can’t add a whole lot to the superlatives that have already been stated. I will whole heartedly agree with what has already been written. I will add that the comments and the web site and the pictures can’t even begin to do justice to this bungalow. You will only be able to truly appreciate it by being there and experiencing it first hand. You must do that. We are so happy to always avoid the tourist resorts in favor of staying close to local people. We have found that this is the best and only way to really experience the local culture. This bungalow provided that base to experience the true Bora Bora. It’s location provides easy access to all the activities the island has to offer.

In planning our trip, I spent days searching the web sites looking for the perfect bungalow to stay in. When I found Here Moana, I knew immediately that this is where I wanted to stay. Please save yourself the time and energy of searching for a place to stay. You will never find a more perfect bungalow then this one.

I will end by emphasizing a comment I made earlier. What really made staying in this bungalow special was the wonderful relationship that developed between Ed and JoAnne and ouselves. They are truly committed to making sure that you have a special experience on the island and in their home. All the small and wonderful things they provide and do will make your stay memorable. Their local caretakers Christophe, Ginou and Coralie are always available to make our stay special.
January 2016


plumeria flower Ed & JoAnne’s beautifully renovated bungalow was modern, clean, well appointed and for us a so much better option than being in a resort. We had 2 nights in an over the water bungalow in a resort (no privacy and limited view, and stuck off the main land) and 8 nights in the bungalow on the main land. We enjoyed being with the locals rather than other tourists, we were able to buy local produce and cook for ourselves, eating on the deck with spectacular views of boats, planes, islands, sunsets etc. The water is so clear we could actually spot sting rays swimming past, the binoculars provided were great too. Along with the bikes, paddle boards and snorkels which were available for our use. The internet access was great if required, we barely had the television on as we found so much else to do.

We went everywhere by boat as we knew a local, but could have hired one, or hired Ed’s car. Chin Lee grocery store has a van which goes past at 7am and 4pm every day, so you could order and they would bring next trip if they didn’t have what you wanted. The island tour was great, saw things we would have never found on our own. Felt safe and really enjoyed swimming with stingrays and sharks, also snorkelling to look at coral with Marona from Temanava tours, highly recommended. Smaller traditional boat with less people and Marona knows all the best spots. Did the sulphur sand also on his tour. Went to a Polynesian buffet and dancing at Pearl Beach resort although we weren’t staying there you were still welcome.

We were able ring from the bungalow phone our host Christope at any time if we needed something or had an issue (we never needed to).

Just remember, to get a view like that you have to climb the stairs to get there, good exercise and worth it. Summary for us was the location was perfect, you can stay in a resort and eat the same resort food any where in the world, but if you are coming to Bora Bora this was a much better option. Loved it. We’ll be back. Thanks Ed & JoAnne.
May 2015


plumeria flower Hello Ed, We have been picked up today in the morning by Christophe. Everything was just you said… and much more! Today you made us happier than we usually are… We have arrived to the conclusion that you don’t rent your bungalow for money. You do it because of goodness and you want people to share what you have when you see and FEEL this incomparable beauty. Thank you for this, that can not be bought by money. Such a good taste of yours about the furniture and the sense of practicality! Everything you see, have a touch of delicateness in this bungalow.
Elisabet and Mario – May 2015


plumeria flower“Honeymoon in Heaven”
My wife and I stayed here the first week in October 2014 as part of a 2 week honeymoon. We stayed the first week here and the second week at the Pearl Beach Resort. I feel like this was the way to do it. 10-14 days is perfect for Bora Bora. Since we traveled 20 hours to get there from New Jersey, we wanted to stay long enough to enjoy ourselves without feeling rushed. We are 31 and 28 years of age. This place was amazing! We were definitely nervous renting this property site unseen and it only having one review. We gambled and we won big time!

First, let me tell you that the photos on the website are exactly like the place looks. It is amazingly clean, modern and laid out perfect for a couple on their honeymoon. The kitchen was modern with an induction stove and all the cookware you need. Eating out in Bora Bora is expensive. Having the kitchen allowed us to go into town to Chin Lee or Super U grocery stores and get stuff to cook our own gourmet dinners. Furthermore, the view from the balcony is the ultimate place to sit down and enjoy your dinner and some drinks.

The owner Ed was extremely helpful. We were able to communicate with him daily via email if we had any questions. The wifi in the house was an added benefit that allowed us to stay in touch with the rest of the world if we so desired. Download the Viber App before you go so you can make phone calls using the wifi connection on your mobile phone. Ed also provided us with a rental vehicle for the week which was our most valuable asset during our stay. Having the vehicle allowed us to come and go at our leisure whether it was running into town to shop, driving down to Matira Beach for the day or headed to a restaurant for the evening. You will need a car to be able to do what you want, when you want without waiting on scheduled buses.

Activities: The house comes with two stand-up paddle boards, snorkel gear and two bicycles. We didn’t use the bicycles because we witnessed too many times the dogs that wander the street chase after cars. It happened twice to us. We brought our own snorkel gear so we were good on that. The stand-up paddle boards were a lot of fun but just be prepared to carry them down the steep driveway and back up when you are done.

That brings me to the driveway. If you are afraid of driving up a steep incline and turning around in a small parking lot like Austin Powers then you might want to leave the driving up to someone else. The parking spot for the bungalow is atop a steep driveway. Once you do it once or twice you get a good handle on it. I found it to be adventuresome.

Staying at the bungalow allowed us to see the mainland of Bora Bora and how the people of Bora Bora really lived. We were able to make our own meals which definitely kept the price down on our vacation. We had a stunning view to look at each morning, day and evening.

The best advice I could give to someone looking to come here is to do what we did. Stay at this breathtaking bungalow for a few days to learn the layout of Bora Bora, eat meals at a reasonable price and enjoy the view. Then I would head to a resort and stay in an overwater bungalow for the rest of the trip.

Tip: Check with Ed to see how long you can rent the car from him. We were fortunate enough to rent the car from him while we stayed at Pearl Beach Resort. Each resort (even the ones on the motu’s) have a parking lot where you can keep your rental car parked. We made friends with another couple from our resort that did not have a car. We took them to places they never would have gone easily if having to arrange travel through the resort. They said meeting us and going places by using the car was the highlight of their trip.

best breakfast: cook it at the bungalow looking out at your beautiful view
best lunch place: Snack Matira
best place to eat dinner: Mai Kai Marina & Yacht Club Restaurant
activities: Maohi Nui tours (6 hour shark and stingray snorkel with lunch) make sure you tell them that you are staying at the condominiums and they will give you a deal and come pick you up by boat. Without a doubt, hands down, I would recommend this bungalow to friends and family.  “Duckster2″ – October 2014


plumeria flowerYou won’t find a smarter place at Bora Bora! The private residence is perfectly located, the view to the lagoon is just gorgeous – sunset at it`s best! Bikes and snorkel equipment as well as a car can be used. Cool to discover the great variety of the Island. Christophe and Ginou, the local hosts – a french couple – were looking after us like family members. They welcomed us @ the Vaitape harbor, showed us the way to the apartment and gave us tips where to go and were always ready to help. Charming and very helpful. In the apartment you will find “the book” with the best addresses @ Bora Bora: snorkeling, day pass, restaurants, medical care, fun sports, restaurants, shopping etc. Better than in a five star hotel! We believe that staying at Ed’s apartment is a much nicer and more interesting experience than spending in one of the hotels. You get in touch with locals and you have a much bigger variety of entertainment. There is always the chance to spend a day in one of the most famous hotels – day pass – as for example @ LE MERIDIEN BORA BORA and relax for a day at the white beach. Ed is a generous, fair and solid partner. Always within reach, even though he lives on the other side of the world… just great. We appreciated our stay very much indeed and are very grateful to have found Ed. Congratulations: Your apartment is a jewel and having you as a “landlord” is a lucky chance! Simone K. – September 2014


plumeria flowerI doubt you’ll find a more modern and wonderfully located private residence to rent in Bora Bora, unless it’s at one of the luxury hotels that charge ten times more than this vacation rental. And the view is breathtaking…much better than the view from the few bungalows on the water! Plus, we were able to cross the street to snorkel and ride bikes from our location. The owners have designed the most efficient and luxurious bungalow, with an amazing view of the Bora Bora lagoon.The bungalow is fully air-conditioned and has beautiful newly remodeled finishes in the kitchen, bath and living space with lots of light wood and the most modern appliances. We loved the new indoor and outdoor furniture – especially the padded lounge chairs with ottomans on the large deck overlooking the lagoon, plus the dining table with padded chairs for outdoor dining on the deck. The provided BBQ, bicycles, paddle boards, washer and dryer and snorkel equipment were just icing on the Tahitian cake. The bungalow is less than 15 minutes by car from the main town and ferry dock in Viatape, so you have easy access to the grocery store, restaurants and shops. If you want to stay in touch with the world or be entertained, the bungalow provides satellite cable, a really cool 3-D television, Blu-Ray player and sound system, all stuff not found in many people’s permanent homes. The WIFI was dependable and robust throughout our stay. Also, the local caretakers speak English and greeted us upon arrival on the island, helped us pick up our rental car, showed us the way to the property and spent time showing us how to work everything and give us tips on area. A wonderful personal touch! Staying at this private bungalow was an much more amazing and special experience than staying at one of the very expensive resorts! We were more than pleased. Gary P. – August 2014